Update on Status of Men In Trees

Man, this blog has been inundated with comments from people asking for Men In Trees to not be canceled. It’s nice to see this outpouring of support for a show that is mostly considered clean (I would add except for some risky sex scenes). At least it’s not Desperate Housewives.

Well, we finally got an update from the Men In Trees Blog about what’s happening:

Hey there—

If you are reading this, perhaps you are jonesing for a little Men In Trees. Well I am here to tell you that while we are off for a few weeks, we are far from over! We will be back on the air at the latest on April 12th in our old time slot and then we have five new episodes to show you. I will be able to give you a precise air date for our new episodes in the next two weeks…but it will be no later than that April 12th date…

It has been so great to read all of your comments here and elsewhere. We so appreciate the love you have shown our show and the…gosh darn tenacity…you guys show in continuing to contact us and the network. It reminds me of my dog Trixie. She is this 15- pound Border Terrier, but you do not want to cross her. She becomes like a 200-pound Doberman. That’s what our fans are. The 200 pound Doberman dressed as sweet, smart, normal people…until you cross them and take our show off the air for a few weeks. You go, fans!

Okay. So I just wrote the last episode of the season. Note: I said “of the season”, not “of the series.” It is big. Our last two episodes are a 2-parter and I have to say quite a bit happens. Stuff you may not see coming. We’ve got it all—Cash, Danny, more Sam and Jane drama, Marin and Jack drama, a storm, a wedding, a proposal, an accident, a pack of hungry wolves…well, you’ll see. Upon finishing this last episode I promptly got sick and took to my bed for three days. This is what happens after you are done writing a season—your body literally gives out on you. Today I am up and around and feel like I have at least another season in me…

So keep writing, you guys. And we will keep writing back. It will make the time pass much more quickly, I promise. Also soon, our podcast will be up and running on this site, so make sure to check back!

A podcast? Drama? Should be interesting.

This entry was posted in ABC, Men In Trees, TV, TV News. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Update on Status of Men In Trees

  1. Pingback: Looks Like Men In Trees Being Cancelled is Pretty Popular « So You Think You Can Dance

  2. Pingback: Rumors Abound About Men In Trees Getting Cancelled « So You Think You Can Dance

  3. Kelley says:

    Love Men in Trees NOT liking new time slot on, Thursday What was wrong with original day and time?

  4. Kelley says:

    I know life does not revolve around me. However, I’m loving how Grey’s anatomy does repeat show on Friday’s. MiT just as good – maybe u can 2 – just a thought.

  5. Marna says:

    I love the show “Men in trees”, and I am so glad that it is not going to be cancelled.

  6. Dana Yocum says:

    SO GLAD MEN IN TREES is not going to be cancelled…I have literally NOT WATCHED October Road because I was upset my “Men in Trees” was not on as usual. I just got hooked on this show a month ago and now it is off the air??? LOOKING forward to this show being on as long as Cheers was! IT’s the show to watch!
    🙂 Dana

  7. Regina Apostoli says:

    So glad to hear Men In Trees is coming back…I hope it continues for years!

  8. Cookie Parrish says:

    My husband and I love Men in Trees, but we cannot find it on its usual time. Why would it be canceled? Where is it? When will you let the public know what is going on?

  9. Patty says:

    Finally, I found something on Men in Trees. So glad to hear it’s not being cancelled. Watched “October Road” once, do not like. BORING! Hope Men in Trees is hear to stay. LOVE IT

  10. Clementine says:

    As much as I love men in trees I am now HOOKED on October Road. I hope it stays around. October Road Patty is sooooo far from boring. It’s actually leaves you waiting for the next episode. Good show!!!

  11. octoberroad fan says:

    October Road is one show I really love. It’s e axciting and leaves you wanting more. Makes you not leave the room. I give a thumbs up and hope it stays around.Finnally a good show to watch.

  12. vanessa says:

    Glad to hear my fave show Men In Trees is coming back, Got scared thinking it was cancelled. Thought Cash and Marin together and get rid of Lynn. Can’t wait till 4-12-07

  13. Susan says:

    yes, brilliant writing too. It’s introspective, catching all the unspoken quirks that many of us experience but never verbalize or act on. I love Marin’s ambivalent feelings about most things. She’s great.

  14. lore says:

    i was starting to get worried that somebody at abc had
    screwed up by cancelling men in trees…i have been a
    fan fron episode 1 and have got more than a few of my
    friends also hooked…also i haven’t watched october road,
    doesn’t interest me —

  15. PAG says:

    So where was Men In Trees April 12 like promised? All of us are still waiting, I love this show.Was the only one I stayed up forLooked forward to it all week. Please bring it back and don’t leave us without it, hope it stays on for years. Don’t like october Road, hate Underbelly. So I turn off the tv. No points from me on those two shows. Please bring back MIT.

  16. Tara says:

    I too was dying to see my Men In Trees on April 12th and instead got some idiotic show about pregnancy…How upset was I??? (VERY)
    Please ABC stop jerking us fans around! We love this show so much. Any news and when and if they are going to air this show again, please ler us know!!
    Thanks, a MIT fanatic!!

  17. Carolyn says:

    love men in trees, don’t like the lynn character, but i also love the Octoberroad series. It makes me feel like I’m there. Both shows leave me wanting to see the next show. I hope they both stay on.

  18. Nancy says:

    Hey, what’s the deal? I have a “season pass” to MIT and there are no upcoming shows in the queue. I feel ripped off–they CAN’T just cancel it without some sort of a finale. I don’t want to see it end at all–but if it has to go, at least give it’s fans a little satisfaction!!

  19. Sheli says:

    MIT was the last thing my husband and i shared together. We filed for divorce on Tuesday. Maybe if it had stayed on, i wouldn’t be moving out. Ok,so that’s an exaggeration, but ironic with the timing. bring it back!

  20. Dawn says:

    MIT…back next year…how refreshing 😉 I’m so tired of whodunnits and how did they do-its…I’m ready for something frisky! Can hardly wait to get back to Elmo, Alaska!

  21. Jeannie says:

    I am an older female that loves a good romance and oh, how, I’ve missed MIT. It is so entertaining! Please bring it back soon!

  22. JP says:

    Looks like MIT will not be back. I heard a new fall show with Anne Heche being advertised. I’m not happy….. MIT was a great show and I’m going to miss it.

  23. sytycd says:

    Wrong. MIT is coming back. They wouldn’t have run the episode all summer and then cancel it I don’t think. Not to mention, the MIT blog says that it is still coming back. Unless something new’s been posted since I last checked.

  24. firstdance says:

    MIT should not count anything out with ABC handling it. I hope CBS might buy it..put it on “great HD” and be rid of the mickey mouse shenanigans of ABC.(Yeah mickey mouse, I know they are owned by the pest). ABC seems oblivious of marketing know how.

  25. Lee says:

    It is suppose to be back on Febuary 27 with a new episode called “Charity Case”.

  26. cyndi moise says:

    i am so glad it is not cancelled, but i am in withdrawl and want to see it rerun or not. i hope until it comes on again, then maybe we can get a teaser at least with the reruns from the begining of the first season. please. i love how you finally got sam and jane together and i am wondering with cash’s illness, maybe the naked boy will move into marin’s cabin with her. i would like to see cash, marin and jack mix it up a little. jealousy is always a strong motivator. don’t leave us hanging too long. WE WANT MEN IN TREES BACK!!!. thank you.

  27. Shannon says:

    I am waiting for February 27th like I have never waited for anything in my life! Men in Trees is so wonderful and lovely! This is one of the best shows on tv right now. It should be getting rerun time. Come on ABC and make a move!!!

  28. Reyes G. Rodriguez says:

    I enjoy this show very much. You capture the struggle in human relationships, the difficulty that men and women have in comminication their true feelings, the “mystery” in ethnic identity and acceptance. Very well done and am looking forward to your new shows. Any rerun possibilities in the future? Thank you for your dedication and hard work in this series.

  29. Carol Elmendorf says:

    I am not a big fan of most of the new series. Out of the few I do like, Men in Trees is my favorite, for the same reasons as written by Reyes Rodriguez (thanks, Reyes, for your excellent description of the show!). I am so happy to find out that it hasn’t been cancelled and look forward to its return.

  30. Pat says:

    Still waiting for Men In Trees. Any new start date? Looking forward to see what is happening. Last episode Jack was in the life boat! Any since then?

  31. Ranae says:

    I am so happy to hear Men in Trees will be returning with new shows. It’s the only show on television I truly look forward to watching. The breaks in between new episodes are torture.

  32. Cathy says:

    Okay, I read everybody elses concern as to when Men in Trees is to return. So when will it return and what day of the week? I don’t watch TV on a regular basis, yet I always make sure the VCR is set to tape whether I’m home or not.

  33. Ketura Vance says:

    Last year when MiT was taken off the air I was very upset. Yet when Lynn came back I was even more bitter. This fall I was sitting on the edge of my seat, anxious to see what would happen next. I am a faithful fan, that turns off my phone, make sure the kids are clean and fed, so I can have an hour to “myself”. Where is my MiT? I thought it was going to be back on air after the holidays. But still no new episodes. So,PLEASE quit teasing your fans and keep a steady schedule.

  34. Helen Rodgers says:

    We were so excited when MIT came back to TV, very fresh writing, right down to Marin knitting while Jack at sea. Not so sure about the Patrick losing his memory thing, but willing to see how y’all (Alabama here) work that out. Please don’t make us wait to long.

  35. Carolyn McDonald says:

    Has Men in Trees been cancelled as of 4/30/08? WE LOVE THE SHOW.

  36. sytycd says:

    Last I checked no, but I haven’t heard an update in a while. This post is from a year ago when it was rumored to have been canceled. From what I’ve seen it’s still going strong and it’s in a decent time slot too.

  37. Cassie says:

    I miss Men In Trees. This show brought me back to primetime TV. I hope the show will be back.

    I’m one of many loyal fans. I hope that the powers that be realize what a gem they had in Men In Trees.

    Very insteresting and hilarious characters mixed with real life stories make this a must-see program.

    I want to see Anne Heche back on TV in MIT, please.

  38. Deb says:

    yes from what i hear mit has been cancelled there are only a couple shows left to air how horrible is that why don’t they take off the game shows or something no one cares about.

  39. sytycd says:

    Well, the only answer I can offer is that game shows cost very little to produce compared to a show like Men in Trees. I’ll have to check later and find the official Men In Trees is cancelled.

Leave a Reply

