Danny Tidwell Profile – So You Think You Can Dance

Since I decided to start with Anya Garis I figured I might as well take care of Danny Tidwell also. If you’ve read my blog, then you know that I hope he gets booted off. I’m not arguing his technical skill. However, I will argue all day that he is not America’s FAVORITE dancer. Nonetheless. I don’t mind appeasing the people who do like him with a profile:

1. What is your full name?
My full Name is Daniel Arnold Tidwell.

2. Do you have a nickname?
Ever since I was young Danny is the only name I was called.

3. How old were you when you started to dance?
I started dancing when I was 10 Years old.

4. Do you have any formal dance training? If so, please provide details regarding training.
First I started to with my mom at Denise Walls dance energy, in Va, Beach. Under the direction of Denise Wall and Vicky Cooke, I studied Ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical, and floor gymnastics. After my training with Denise Wall and Vicky Cooke I invited to study the classical ballet technique with the Kirov Academy of Ballet in Washington D.C. I stayed there for 2 years.

5. If you had to categorize your dance style, what would it be (hip hop, ballet, tap etc…)?
I would have to say contemporary. But with a strong ballet background

6. What other talents/hobbies do you have?
I love working on the magazine when I have time.

7. Who is your favorite professional dancer?
So many, most are ones that I know personally. But I love Rasta Thomas, My brother Travis Wall, and Nick Lazzerini. Dana Wilson.

8. Does anyone in your family dance professionally? Just my Bro Travis Wall.

9. Have you performed in musical theater or in public functions as a dancer?
Yes a little. I danced In Debbi Allen shows at the Kennedy Center when I was 15. I also performed a dance at UCLA last winter.

10. What would you like to see happen to you as a result of the show?
I would like to open more doors for myself, and have all the different styles we learn on the show under my belt.

11. Where would you like to be in 10 years and what would you like to be doing?
I would like to be working creatively, on any or all of my main interests Music, Dance, Fashion.

12. What has been your most memorable dance experience?
For sure have the opportunity to dance on the Metropolitan Opera house stage, with American Ballet Theater.

Here’s a little video of Danny Tidwell dancing before So You Think You Can Dance:

Buy Tickets to see Danny at the So You Think You Can Dance Tour

This entry was posted in Fox, Reality TV, So You Think You Can Dance, TV, TV News. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Danny Tidwell Profile – So You Think You Can Dance

  1. Juliette says:

    Danny may have a more aloof manner than the other dancers, but as far as I am concerned he is in another league in terms of his technique and talent. Also, I have read that he had a hard childhood and was adopted by his dance teacher who raised him since he was ten. This kind of life could make you more reserved. I was a professional dancer and choreographer for many years and I think Danny has amazing talent!

  2. Lisa Stephenson says:

    Ditto on Juliette’s comments! Danny is an incredible dancer. I wish people would not just vote based on personality, charm, looks, etc. and really look at the technique and talent of the trained dancers on the show. What they do is very difficult, takes hard work and years of dedication. Making it as a professional dancer is hard and they don’t get paid oodles of money for what they do. Danny may not have a great personality but he is in an entirely different league than anyone else on the show. He makes everything look effortless. I will keep voting for Danny!!!

  3. Denise says:

    I think that Danny has a beautiful soul and it shows in every dance that he performs. He brings tears to my eyes and joy to my heart.

  4. Brianna says:

    I think that Danny is such an amazing dancer, and personally I do not see arrogance when he dances. I see brilliance. I will keep voting for him and pray that he will win this competition.

    I LOVE DANNY!

  5. Jenny says:

    I agree with the comments above. It is so refreshing to see a true professional on this show. Danny isn’t arrogant he is reserved and classy. Things don’t have to be in your face to be good, quite the opposite. Danny’s artistry and training are what every “real” dancer gushes over. He is completely beyond this show and should go back to the met where real dancers live and breathe for those of us that know a thing or two about good art.

  6. Nicole says:

    I personally think Danny Tidwell is an amazing dancer who should be practicing his talents thoroughly through a major ballet company. If he wanted to, he could be the next Baryshnikov. I also think no one should judge him by the way he was raised. All that matters is how he turned out, and by the look of things, I think he turned out rather well. Also, adding to the judgements, Danny is in no way, shape, or form an arrogant person. I do not see how the person who wrote this interview can say or justify that he is nothing more than some egotistical dancer. I am very sure that this person does not even know Danny personally. I just question why anyone would feel so strongly about someone who just wants to dance and CAN dance.

  7. Joanne says:

    I agree Nicole. Danny is the best and some people in this world are jealous of people who is beautiful as well as talented. Well I say “It’s their loss”. I love watching Danny and hope I can see MORE of him in the future.

  8. jenice says:

    Danny is the bestever! But I am afraid after sytycd he will go back to teaching and we will not have the chance to see him dancing again.

    check out his sites

    http://www.dannytidwell.net

    http://www.dannytidwell.com

  9. mona says:

    danny is so so handsome, he is beautiful outside and appears to be inside, he is bound for greatness with his skills. i do believe he was the best.

Leave a Reply

